February 7, 2017 John 0Comment

The 9/11 incident is one of the most tragic days in the history of the United States. This day saw many tragic injuries and violent deaths. On the other hand, it saw the selflessness and bravery of the first responders. Their effort came at a cost. Many of them has been diagnosed with various diseases. For this reason, the WTC Victims Compensation Fund (VCF) was created. In this article, I will write about this fund.

Zadroga Act and VCF

The James Zadroga 9/11 Health and Compensation Act of 2010 was named in honor of the late James Zadroga. He was a NYC detective and a first responder. He died from respiratory disease, which was the first attributed to 9/11 toxin exposure. This act broadens the scope of the WTC Victims Compensation Fund. It enables more people suffering from physical injury, illness, or death as a result of the 9/11 attacks to obtain economic help.

The Crash Site

The 9/11 crash site includes the area in Manhattan south of Canal Street, the Fresh Kills Landfill in Staten Island, the barges that moved debris, the NYC Morgue.

Eligible People:

The people eligible for the WTC Victims Compensation Fund are:

  • Canal street area residents.
  • Cleanup workers.
  • Construction and sanitation personnel.
  • First responders.
  • People who worked or volunteered in the areas of the three crash sites.

9/11 Toxic Exposure Side Effects

Federal authorities added 58 types of cancers to the list of illnesses covered by the new VFC. The decision was announced just one day before the commemoration of 9/11. These include:

  • Blood.
  • Bone marrow.
  • Breast.
  • Bladder.
  • Lung.
  • Colon.
  • Esophageal.
  • Skin.
  • Thyroid.
  • Trachea.

Some of the other illnesses that the victims have faced are given below.

  • Interstitial lung disease.
  • Chronic respiratory disorder.
  • Asthma.
  • Reactive Airways Dysfunction Syndrome (RADS).
  • WTC-exacerbated Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD).
  • Chronic cough syndrome.
  • Upper airway hyper-reactivity.
  • Chronic rhinosinusitis.
  • Chronic nasopharyngitis.
  • Chronic laryngitis.
  • Gastro-Esophageal Reflux disorder (GERD).
  • Sleep apnea exacerbated by or related to other Covered Conditions.
  • Low back pain.
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome.
  • Traumatic injuries.


Congress appropriated $2.775 billion to the VCF to compensate claimants through the Zadroga Act. All award generally consist of three components. They are:

  • Economic Loss.
  • Non-Economic Loss.
  • Collateral Source Payments.

WTC Victims Compensation Fund Deadline

On December 18, 2015, President Obama signed the reauthorization of the James Zadroga 9/11 Health and Compensation Act of 2010. Therefore, the WTC Victims Compensation Fund will remain open for another five years. Claimants with an award determination will begin to receive their full payments. VCF is still open for new claimant registration. The deadline is 18 December, 2020.

To conclude, WTC Victims Compensation Fund has been working appropriately to ensure the victims’ treatment. The victims should try their best to get benefit from this organization.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *